Another catch-up day

I’m not very good at being a working woman, even if it is part time.  I am getting so behind on stuff.  Plus this is Rob’s last week home so trying to enjoy that time and also help him get things done that need to before he leaves.  I figure that after he is gone maybe I can get into some better schedule with my time. 

The weather is going to be in the 40’s today and I can’t wait!  At least I hope so, right now it is 26 so that doesn’t look good.  Yesterday I took Rob to the doctor because he has had a bad cough and congestion that wasn’t clearing up.  Diagnosis was sinus infection, maybe a little bronchitis, so he got some antibiotics and cough syrup, so that should clear up ok.  I’m glad we went, I would have hated to send him back to college being sick.  Today is my day off so we are going to go do a little shopping this afternoon for some things he needs.  Also other catch up stuff is doing some laundry, cleaning, etc etc.  Plus I need to write a newsletter to send out to the Bluebird Society.

I know I am still in a season of transition in my life, facing so much change it seems like.  I need to find my feet again.  I got a couple of good books about dealing with this stage of life, the empty nest, mid-life stuff, so I need to find more time to study about that.  Plus I know with my kids gone, and working, I am learning some things about myself that I don’t like very much, or at least things that are my weaknesses that I need to work on.  A devotional I read the other day emphasized Psalm 121:

I lift up my eyes to the hills- Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot slip –
He who watches over you will not slumber;
Indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD watches over you
The LORD is your shade at your right hand;
The sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night.
The LORD will keep you from all harm –
He will watch over your life;
The LORD will watch over your coming and going
Both now and forevermore.

Psalm 121

I know I need to keep my eyes on God for my help, my identity, my strength.  These floundering feelings I have right now show me that I haven’t been doing that enough.  So I guess I’ll start right now and go sit down with my Bible for a while.  You all have a fantastic day!

 

10 thoughts on “Another catch-up day

  1. {{{{{{{{{{ Christy }}}}}}}}}}}} <-big hug in Jesus for you!I just typed a long comment in your box and my computer ate it! Perhaps it’s just as well that it was lost, I dunno! In any event, I am praying for you and, while the circumstances of my life are different from you, I do understand the feeling (overwhelming at times!) of wanting to “find my feet again” as you so aptly put it. Know that you are beloved and delightful to your Abba, just as you are, just how you are. Let’s you and me not be so concerned about achieving spin control on our lives, and let’s rest quietly upon the Heart of Jesus in loving trust, like little children!I am re-reading The Ragamuffin Gospel for the first time in nine or ten years this week, and it’s been an incredibly grace-filled time, a time of joy and liberation. I am also listening to The Prayers of a Ragamuffin by A Ragamuffin Band this week. “If I’d only learn, what my heart already knows…” yes! You know what I’m trying to say, I know you do!Please know that you are in my daily prayers!God bless you, Toots!Chris

    Like

  2. @i_was_there_and_back_again – Yes, I know you are having a bit of this in your life right now, too.  Rob has BEEN ready for a couple of weeks to get back to CA!  I think next year he’ll take a class or something during the January term instead of sitting around here for a month.  It’s really hard for me to send him off again but I know he has an exciting semester ahead.

    Like

  3. You’ll get the hang of it! I am also trying to type with a German Shepherd hanging all over me!
    There! She’s off now! She’s not the little puppy she used to be! LOL
    I hope Rob is feeling MUCH better today!!! Have a great time today! Hugs, Tracy

    Like

  4. Rob must have quite a long Christmas break between semesters.  R has been back since the 11th, and it seems like a long time ago, now!  Glad you got to spend some time with him, and I hope he feels much better soon.  I know what you mean about transitions.  ::sigh::
    Kathi

    Like

  5. I will be praying for you. If you get up this way again I want you to meet my friend, Faye, if she’s not in Africa. Her youngest son is in Africa now, and her husband will be going there in Feb. She’s home recuperating from the 3rd surgery on her broken ankle. I think you’ve met her on Xanga ………… atatijosiah.

    Like

  6. I know what it’s like. I’m what would normally be considered a “stay-at-home-mom.” But I am the Treasurer AND Financial Secretary for our church, which means I pay all the bills/salaries/taxes, balance all the books, do all the buying, etc. Plus I’m head of the fellowship committee, so I’m always busy. Coming up is Vacation Bible School, and guess who’s the director? Yeah. And being the wife of a deacon means added responsibility. That on top of things I need to get done at home, and having just had surgery…….
    HELP!!!  

    Like

  7. He will not let your foot slip -He who watches over you will not slumber;
    I love the assurance in that verse. I also love that old hymn “Blessed Assurance”. I think I like it more now than I did 10 years ago.
    Hope you get that warmer weather for a little bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

